Wednesday, November 28, 2012

If You Like Michael Connelly, Try...

Today's holiday recommendation comes from a long-time friend of mine. George Lichman is the blogger at The Thirty Year Itch, he's a police officer with the Rocky River (Ohio) Police Department, he's Dad to two of the cutest little toe heads you've ever seen (and foster Dad to my dog, Nestle), and he's been my friend since grade school (can you believe he's tolerated me that long?).

He has a book suggestions for those who like Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch. So I'll let George take it from here:

If You Like Michael Connelly, You'll Love Wes Albers
by George Lichman, The Thirty Year Itch

 Michael Connelly is one of my favorite authors. This fall, he released his twenty-fifth book, The Black Box; his eighteenth featuring LADP Detective Harry Bosch, a character who made his first appearance twenty years ago!
     Mr. Connelly is able to tell a great story, that part is clear. But what he also does, particularly with Bosch, as evidenced by his longevity, is create a dynamic character that grows and changes in time, even taking into account aging. Bosch has certainly changed, but Mr. Connelly has kept what readers likely love about Bosch, too. He is stubborn, willing to go against the grain, do the right thing despite what may be in his best interests, the type of Detective who will work his last case just as hard as his first.
      Mr. Connelly's Bosch books are story driven novels, but the character development is very good, and I have yet to tire of Harry Bosch. He's the type of guy I'd like to have a beer with, and the type of homicide dick I would want to be.


     Wes Albers is a new author, his first book, Black & White, published earlier this year (my original review of it can be found here), is told in first person from the point of view of veteran San Diego Patrol Officer John Hatch. Hatch, like Bosch, is married to his job and has a relationship with the City he serves. Hatch works for the right things: doing right by the people he serves and the people he serves with, but not necessarily by the bosses he works for. He is an honest man, both about his job and about himself.
     While Mr. Connelly's books are about the story first, Mr. Albers' Black & White is the opposite. While there is a mystery in Black & White, the real story is about Hatch. He is an incredibly complex character, and especially interesting because of his ability to reflect on his life, career, and relationships. 

     So why, if the writing styles and experiences levels of Mr. Connelly and Mr. Albers are so different, would I pair the two? The short answer is because the two balance each other so well. But I don't often stop at the short answer, so I'll explain further.
     Both are excellent and entertaining writers, creating an experience that allows me to disappear into the world that is their books. That, after all, is the purpose of reading fiction.
     Both bring the setting of their books alive. When I read Mr. Connelly, I feel like I know Los Angelos, like I'm there with Harry Bosch. Mr. Albers was able to do the same thing with San Diego and John Hatch.
     Both balance the story and characters well. Even though I think Mr. Connelly focuses on the story while Mr. Albers focuses on the characters, both authors include both in their books, so readers get the best of each.  
     Mr. Connelly is likely nearing the end of Harry Bosch. The Black Box is, after all, his eighteenth Bosch novel; the character has already retired once and come back to the job, and now is nearing the end of his deferred retirement employment with the LAPD. John Hatch, while not a rookie, is a young policeman by comparison, and Mr. Albers a young author who has years to develop Hatch and his career.

     I hope you decide to give Wes Albers' Black & White a try. I'm confident that, if you enjoy Michael Connelly and Harry Bosch you'll love it.
     Whatever you decide, please consider giving books for the Holidays.

4 comments:

BLB November 28, 2012 at 10:09 AM  

I love Michael Connelly so I looked up Black & White on Amazon and was delighted to find the Kindle edition is only $2.99 so I bought it.

Wes Albers November 29, 2012 at 2:21 AM  

BLB, thanks for giving Black & White a chance. As a debut author I appreciate your support. I hope you find my story everything you want from a good read.

Thanks also to George for this wonderful, humbling comparison and to Jen for advocating on behalf of writers everyway. I am a fan.

Heather January 15, 2014 at 3:33 PM  

Cool, I'm going to try it too!

Christie November 29, 2014 at 9:03 AM  

Just bought Black & White at the Kindle Store. Thanks for this post - I'm always looking for this kind of book. :)

Labels

2011 2012 2013 Ace Atkins Adrian McKinty Agnete Friis Alafair Burke Alan Bradley Alan Glynn Alan Orloff Alex Berenson Alex Dryden Alexandra Sokoloff Andrew Grant Andrew Gross Anne Zouroudi Annie Barrows Ariana Franklin Arne Dahl Attica Locke audiobook jukebox Audiobooks author events Author Q/A Barry Eisler Bernard Cornwell Beth Ann Fennelly Bill Cameron Bill Crider Bill Loehfelm Bill Pronzini blog tour Book Events Book News Brad Meltzer Brad Parks Brent Ghelfi Brett Battles Brian Azzarello Brian Freeman Brian McGilloway Bryan Gruley C. J. Box C.J. West Camilla Läckberg Cara Black Carl Hiaasen Carla Buckley Carlos Ruiz Zafon Carter Wilson Catriona McPherson Charles Cumming Charlie Huston Charlie Newton Chevy Stevens Chris Grabenstein Chris Holm Chris Kluwe Christa Faust Christopher Reich Christopher Rice Chuck Greaves CJ Lyons Claude Berube Colin Cotterill Cozy Mystery Craig Johnson Craig McDonald CRCRC crime caper Crime Fiction Crime Writers Caught Recommending Crime CWCRC D.A. Mishani Dana Cameron Daniel Palmer Daniel Silva DATW Dave Barry David Baldacci David Corbett David Ellis David Handler David Hayward David Morrell David Rosenfelt Deborah Coonts Deborah Crombie Declan Burke Denise Hamilton Denise Mina Dennis Lehane Detective Fiction Diane Stuckart Don Bruns Don Winslow Donald E Westlake Donato Carrisi Douglas Corleone Duane Swierczynski dystopian Earl Emerson ebook Ed Lynskey Edoardo Ballerini Elizabeth Hand Elizabeth Haynes Emma Donoghue Eric Beetner F. Paul Wilson FFB Five on Friday Focus Features Forensic Science Foul Play Books Francine Mathews Gabriella Herkert Gar Anthony Haywood Gayle Lynds General Fiction George Guidall George Pelecanos Gillian Flynn Graham Brown Gregg Hurwitz Hallie Ephron Hank Phillippi Ryan Harlan Coben Harley Jane Kozak Harper Lee Herman Koch Heroes and Villains Hilary Davidson Historical Fiction Hugh Laurie Ian Rankin Inger Frimansson Ingrid Thoft international thriller J.J. Myers J.T. Ellison James Barney James Conway James Crumley James DuPont James Fredericks James Grippando James Lee Burke James LePore James O. Born Jamie Freveletti Jan Burke Jane Cleland Janet Evanovich January LaVoy Jassy Mackenzie Jed Rubenfeld Jeff Abbott Jeff Woodman Jeffery Deaver Jeffrey Cohen Jeffrey Siger Jennifer McMahon JIAB2011 JIAM2013 Jill Thompson Jo Nesbø Joelle Charbonneau John Connolly John Grisham John Hart John Lescroart John Sandford John Shannon John Verdon Johnny Shaw Jon Land Jonathan Hayes Jonathan Kellerman Jonathan Schuppe Joseph Finder Joseph Wallace Joseph Wambaugh Josh Bazell Josh Corin Joy Castro Julia Heaberlin Julia Pomeroy Julia Spencer-Fleming Julie Hyzy Juliet Blackwell Karen Fossum Karen Olson Karin Slaughter Katherine Kellgren Keith Thomson Kelli Stanley Kelly Braffet Ken Bruen Ken Isaacson Kevin Guilfoile Kimberly McCreight Lachlan Smith Laura Lippman Laurie R King Lawrence Block Lee Child Left Coast Crime Legal Thriller Lene Kaaberbøl Lenny Kleinfeld Les Roberts Liad Shoham Libby Hellmann Linda Castillo Linda Fairstein Linwood Barclay Lisa Ballantyne Lisa Black Lisa Brackmann Lisa Gardner Lisa Lutz Lisa Unger Literary Mystery Lori Roy Lou Berney Louis Bayard Louise Erdrich Louise Penny Louise Ure MacLeod Andrews Marcia Clark Marcus Sakey Mark Billingham Mark Gimenez Mark Hammer Mark Pryor Mark Sullivan Markus Zusak Martin Limon Martyn Waites Mary Higgins Clark Matt Coyle Matthew Dicks Matthew Pearl Matthew Quirk Medical Thriller Meg Gardiner Megan Abbott Memoirs Meredith Cole MfM 2011 Michael Chabon Michael Connelly Michael Harvey Michael Koryta Michael Lister Michael Stanley Michael Van Rooy Michael Wiley Michelle Gagnon Middle Grade Mike Lawson military thriller Murder and Mayhem in Muskego Narrator Interviews Nevada Barr Nonfiction novella NPM Oliver Harris Owen Laukkanen p.i. fiction paranormal Paranormal Thriller Pat Conroy Paul Levine Pete Larkin Peter Berkrot Peter Robinson PI Fiction poetry Police Procedural political thriller Psychological Thriller R.J. Ellory Ralph Cosham Raymond Chandler Rebecca Cantrell Reed Farrel Coleman Reg E. Cathey Review review copy Richard Lange Ridley Pearson Robert B. Parker Robert Crais Robert Dugoni Robert Fate Robert Greer Robert Gregory Browne Robert Pobi Robin Burcell Rochelle Staab romantic suspense Rosemary Harris Ross Macdonald Rupinder Gill Ruth Rendell Ryan David Jahn S. J. Watson S.J. Rozan Sandra Ruttan Sara Gruen Sara Henry Sara Paretsky Sarah Weinman Sasha Abramsky Sci-Fi scientific thriller Scott Turow Sean Black Sean Chercover Sean Doolittle Shane Gericke Shelf Awareness review Short Stories Simon Lewis Simon Prebble Simon Vance Simon Wood Six-word Memoirs Sophie Hannah Sophie Littlefield Spencer Quinn spy thriller Stefanie Pintoff Stephen Cannell Stephen Coonts Stephen Jay Schwartz Stephen King Stephen White Steve Forman Steve Hamilton Steve Hockensmith Steve Mosby Steve Ulfelder Steven Forman Stieg Larsson Stuart Macbride Sue Ann Jaffarian Sue Grafton Susan Arnout Smith Suspense/Mystery T. Jefferson Parker Tania Carver Tasha Alexander Tess Gerritsen theme week Theresa Schwegel Thomas Holland Thomas Kaufman Thomas Young Thriller Tim Dorsey Tim Maleeny Timothy Hallinan tlc book tours Todd Ritter Tom Franklin Tom Piccirilli Tom Schreck Toni McGee Causey Tony Hays Tony Hillerman Trevanian Truman Capote Val McDermid Victor Gischler Walter Mosley Warren Ellis Wayne Arthurson Will Lavender William Kent Krueger Xe Sands xuni author Yasmina Khadra Young Adult Young Readers Yrsa Sigurdardóttir Zoë Sharp

Great Indie Bookstores

xuni

xuni
An amazing collection of authors!

TLC Book Tours

Traffic Map

FEEDJIT Live Traffic Feed

Google+ Followers

Our Blogger Templates Web Design


  © Blogger templates 'Neuronic' by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP