Sunday, March 11, 2012

Crime Fiction March Madness is HERE!

You nominated 'em and I tallied 'em up. These are the heroes and villains you chose to compete in this year's Crime Fiction March Madness tournament. It's actually a fascinating group of characters as we have male and female, classic and contemporary, a variety of geographical locations, well-known and not-so-well-known. I was actually kind of surprised some of our more popular entrants from the the previous tourneys didn't make it this year. It will be an interesting tournament and the biggest factor that will come into play will be the fans that show up to support their respective heroes and villains. As with the previous two tournaments, the top vote getters were seeded in the tourney and then a drawing was held for the remaining spots from those who received one nomination. 

The following are you chosen heroes in alphabetical order by first name:

Anna Pigeon (Nevada Barr)
Armand Gamache (Louise Penny)
Charlie Fox (Zoë Sharp)
Charlie Hardie (Duane Swierczynski)
Charlie Parker (John Connolly)
Clarice Starling (Thomas Harris)
Dave Robicheaux (James Lee Burke)
Ellie Hatcher (Alafair Burke)
Elvis Cole (Robert Crais)
Gabriel Allon (Daniel Silva)
Harry Bosch (Michael Connelly)
Jack Reacher (Lee Child)
Jack Taylor (Ken Bruen)
Jane Rizzoli (Tess Gerritsen)
Joe Pickett (C.J. Box)
Joe Pike (Robert Crais)
John Rebus (Ian Rankin)
Jonathan Stride (Brian Freeman)
Lindsay Boxer (James Patterson)
Lisbeth Salander (Stieg Larsson)
Lucas Davenport (John Sandford)
Nero Wolfe (Rex Stout)
Paddy Meehan (Denise Mina)
Repairman Jack (F. Paul Wilson)
Sam Shepherd (Vanda Symon)
Sherlock Holmes (Arthur Conan Doyle)
Siri Paiboun (Colin Cotterill)
Taylor Jackson (J.T. Ellison)
Travis McGee (John D. MacDonald)
Vanessa Michael Munroe (Taylor Stevens)
Walt Longmire (Craig Johnson)
Will Trent (Karin Slaughter)

And for your chosen villains (I'm sorry if some of these are incorrect, I'm unfamiliar with a lot of them and I'm just giving you what was submitted...):

Arnold Zeck (Rex Stout)
Bazza McKenzie (Graham Hurley)
Bennett (Marcus Sakey)
Campbell Bradford (Michael Koryta)
Christian Volkov (Kyle Mills)
Clara Rinker (John Sandford)
Daniel (Robert Crais)
Deaf Man (Ed McBain) 
Diogenes Pendergast (Preston & Child)
Dr. No (Ian Fleming)
Ethan Green (Karin Slaughter)
Francis Dolarhyde (Thomas Harris)
Gary Sonjei (James Patterson)
Gerald Cafferty (Ian Rankin)
Gretchen Lowell (Chelsea Cain)
Hannibal Lecter (Thomas Harris)
Hook (Lee Child)
Irvin Irving (Michael Connelly)
Jacko Vance (Val McDermid)
Joe the Cleaner  (Paul Cleave)
John Marcone (Jim Butcher)
Junior Allen (John D. MacDonald)
Kyle Craig, a.k.a. The Mastermind (James Patterson)
Mann (Duane Swierczynski)
Mr. Pudd (John Connolly)
Pietro Brwna (Josh Bazell)
Pretender (J.T. Ellison)
Professor Moriarity (Arthur Conan Doyle)
Sethos (Elizabeth Peters)
Surgeon (Tess Gerritsen)
Traveling Man (John Connolly)
Tom Waaler (Jo Nesbø)

You can click here to get your copy of the tourney bracket. On Wednesday (3/14) there will be a post for you to submit your guesses for the final three rounds of the tourney (Elite Eight, Final Four and the Finale) for this year's contest. All entries must be received by midnight Friday (3/16) to qualify. The winners of the first round will be announced on Saturday.
 Voting will start tomorrow for the first round of the tourney. Be sure to let all your friends know, because unlike the nomination process, you only get one vote per match-up now that the tourney has started.

Let the games begin!!


Naomi Johnson March 12, 2012 at 1:44 PM  

I am stunned that Dr. Moriarty did not make the cut! But one of the villains is on my list to talk about during Heroes & Villains Week.

Naomi Johnson March 12, 2012 at 1:50 PM  

Woops, my bad! I see Moriarty did make it!

Darwindog96 March 14, 2012 at 9:15 AM  

Ooooh - seeding not fair!!! Hard, hard choices already ! ;)

  © Blogger templates 'Neuronic' by 2008

Back to TOP